The Power of a Single Day

May 10th 

I find it so interesting how a single 24 hours can become so important to a person. A birthday, holiday, or an annual tradition. Regardless of the celebration, this short time has such an impact on the lives we live. On the contrary, not all of these days are celebratory. Some of these moments have burned us, forever leaving an ugly scar. Each calendar year, these memories either inspire us or haunt us yet at their core, they are merely,

24 hours, 1,440 minutes, and 86,400 seconds of our lives.  

10 years ago, May 10th was just an ordinary spring day. Where I’m from, we have the saying, “April showers bring May flowers”How cute right? So this day was joyful, colorful and smelled like a great new year. In school, I was in the midst of a summer countdown and scribbling HAGS in everyone’s yearbook. What a time to be alive.

5 years ago, May 10th was one day closer to my high school graduation. Goodness gracious I couldn’t wait to get the hell out of there! I couldn’t wait to break through the chains of lockers and textbooks and run off to college. I was counting down the days until I could start a new life. I could finally reinvent myself and start building the life I’d always wanted.

1 year ago on May 10th, I graduated from Arizona State University. As I stood on stage amongst my dear friends, humble colleagues, dear professors, and loved ones, it all became clear. I had finally achieved the highest honor to date. I was an educated young woman. With the world in my hand and the future at my fingertips, I was untouched! This day was arguably the best moment of my life. A cherished memory and a milestone that will shape the woman who I hope to become.

But just a week ago on May 10th of this year, I was humbled by an event that will scar this day for the rest of my life. My parents, married an astounding 27 years, finalized their divorce. Their marriage has defined every fiber of my being, now shattered into fine pieces of glass, cutting me with every memory I can recollect. The foundation of who I think I am, now completely obliterated with just a few drops of ink.

Today, my heart aches with the idea that my memory of this day is shared by so many incredible memories. Both good and bad, this day has impacted me in ways that are difficult to articulate. It’s not a holiday and it is far from a tradition, yet it is so incredibly and painfully memorable. May 10th is like a stain on my memory that I can’t seem to remove…but I’m not sure if I want to. This day has made me bigger, better, and stronger.

So next year, on May 10th I am determined to stand tall. Stronger than the years before and with the expectation that I will create a new memory – the next milestone that will add to the legacy of this day.

Don’t ever underestimate the power of a single day. Allow each day to challenge you, change you and empower you. May 10th is an example in my life that will live on well beyond my years.

 

— Little Miss Sunshine

Leave a Reply

